Awards Ceremony for the inaugural Michael Gifkins Prize for an Unpublished Novel

16:00 pm
17:00 pm
Level 5 Air NZ Foyer Aotea Centre
Aotea Square, Auckland
Auckland Central

Out of almost 200 entries, three outstanding manuscripts have been chosen for the 2018 shortlist: When Curlews Call by H. E. Crampton (Cairns and Nelson) Caught Between by Jeannie McLean (Auckland) Slaughter Weight by Ruby Porter (Auckland) Over the summer two New Zealand judges, Jill Rawnsley and James George, selected a beguiling and diverse longlist, which then went to Text Publishing for the shortlist selection.

Text Publishing remarked that ‘the selection revealed an extraordinary diversity of writing and an enviable depth of talent. It was a difficult process to arrive at our shortlist of three novels’. The manuscripts are now with the shortlist judges: award-winning novelists Lloyd Jones and Patricia Grace, and a representative from Text Publishing. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on 19 May at 4pm in the Air NZ Foyer of the Aotea Centre, as part of the Auckland Writers and Readers Festival (full program here). Text Publishing’s Michael Heyward, along with Lloyd and Patricia, will be there to announce the winner. All are welcome to this free public event. The 2019 Michael Gifkins Prize for an Unpublished Novel will open for entry on 20 July 2018. Please see the New Zealand Society of Authors website for entry details.