Book Launch | Brandy Scott's 'Not Bad People'

18:00 pm
19:30 pm
Unity Books
57 Willis Street
Wellington

About the book Three friends, thirty years of shared secrets, one impulsive gesture .. and a terrible accident. When friendship goes bad, someone has to pay. For fans of Liane Moriarty and Robyn Harding. It's New Year's Eve. Three thirty-something women - Aimee, Melinda and Lou - best friends for decades, let off sky lanterns filled with resolutions: for meaning, for freedom, for money. As the glowing paper bags float away, there's a bright flare in the distance. It could be a sign of luck - or the start of a complete nightmare that will upend their friendships, families and careers. The day after their ceremony, the newspapers report a small plane crash - two victims pulled from the wreckage, one a young boy. Were they responsible? Aimee thinks they are, Melinda won't accept it, and Lou has problems of her own. It's a toxic recipe for guilt trips, shame, obsession, blackmail and power games. They're not bad people. But desperate times call for desperate measures.

About the author Brandy Scott is a former senior producer on Radio New Zealand's Morning Report. Before her radio career she worked as a print journalist, including contributing from the Middle East to the Economist and serving as features editor for a daily national newspaper, Emirates Today. She is currently based in Dubai co-hosting a popular breakfast show called The Business Breakfast, on the UAE's only talk radio station, Dubai Eye 103.8. Not Bad People is her first novel.