Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2018 shortlist announced

These annual awards offer four principal prizes: the Poetry Award, the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize, the Illustrated Non-Fiction Award, and the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction.

There are also four Best First Book awards, and a Māori language award for books written entirely in te reo Māori.

Winners of the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize win $50,000. Winners of the other three principal category awards each receive $10,000, the Māori language award $10,000, and each of the winners of the four Best First Book awards, $2,500.

Panels of three judges each are selected to judge each of the categories.

Forty books have been selected for the 2018 longlist, in the categories of fiction, illustrated non-fiction, general non-fiction and poetry.

View more at the website: http://www.nzbookawards.nz/new-zealand-book-awards/