Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal and National Awards Day

13:00 pm
17:00 pm
Music Auditorium, Faculty of Education and Social Work,
University of Auckland, 74 Epsom Avenue
Auckland 1023
The Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal is New Zealand’s most prestigious honour for children’s authors, illustrators and publishers. Among the recipients since its inception in 1991 are Joy Cowley, Lynley Dodd, Jack Lasenby, Maurice Gee, Gavin Bishop, David Hill, Kate De Goldi, Des Hunt, Andrew Crowe, Maria Gill and Kids Lit Quiz originator Wayne Mills. The award carries a monetary prize of $2000 and is presented annually to a person for their lifetime achievement and significant contribution to the broad field of children’s literature and literacy. This includes writing, illustration, publishing and academic fields.