Brungar, Carole

Brungar, Carole


Primary publisher
Carole Brungar Publishing
Rights enquiries
Publicity enquiries

In Brief

Carole Brungar is an award-winning self-published author, based in the Horowhenua district of the North Island. Carole is known for her best-selling historical romantic novels set against the backdrop of Vietnam during the war. The Vietnam series features The Nam Legacy (2017), The Nam Shadow (2018), Going Home (2020), Loving Summer (2021) and The Return (2022). Her debut novel, A Tide Too High, is a three-time finalist in several awards categories. The Nam Legacy spent seven weeks in the NZ Booksellers/Nielsen Top Ten Bestselling List for New Zealand fiction. Going Home won silver in the Independent Publisher Book Awards for Excellence in Publishing.

Brungar, Carole (1960 - ) is a multiple award-winning author whose novels have attracted international acclaim. Carole was born in Foxton, New Zealand. In 2010 she graduated with her Bachelor of Communication from Massey University Palmerston North, majoring in Communication Management and Journalism. After she graduated, she worked as a communications officer for Palmerston North council for seven years. Since 2017 she has been working as a library manager.

To date, Carole has published six books. Her debut A Tide Too High was published in 2014, followed by The Nam Legacy in 2017, The Nam Shadow in 2018, Going Home in 2020, Loving Summer in 2021 and The Return in 2022. A Tide Too High was the finalist in the RWNZ Koru Awards for Best First Book, as well as a finalist in the First Coast Romance Writers National Excellence in Romantic Fiction Awards, Best First Book category and the Best Fiction with Romantic Elements category.

The Nam Legacy was the winner of the California Dreamin’ Contest for Best Opening Chapter in a book and spent seven weeks in the top 10 NZ Booksellers/Nielsen Top Ten Bestselling List for New Zealand fiction.

The Nam Shadow won the Gold Medal at the Beverly Hills Book Awards, Military Fiction category, as well as the Gold Medal in Independent Publishers Awards (IPPY) for Excellence in Independent Publishing, Australia/New Zealand/Pacific Rim category. The Nam Shadow was also listed as the Finalist in the American Fiction Awards, Military category.

Going Home, the third novel of the Vietnam series, won a silver medal in the Independent Publisher Book Awards (IPPY), for Excellence in Publishing, as well as a silver medal in the Military Writers Society of America. Her Vietnam series has not only been described as powerful, gritty, and authentic but also as evocative and disturbing.

In 2022, Carole will launch her new series, The Hamiltons.


Nam Legacy Book Review

Nam Legacy Interview

Updated June 2022.